Trump Will Restrict Refugees And Immigrants From Middle East: Report

Syria, Iran, among countries facing restrictions

According to a Reuters report, Donald Trump will be signing executive orders in the coming days related to refugees and immigration.

The executive orders are expected to restrict refugees and Visa holders from 7 countries in the Middle East.

Those countries are below:

  • Iraq
  • Iran
  • Sudan
  • Libya
  • Syria
  • Yemen
  • Somalia

These expected executive orders will fulfill another Trump campaign promise – though the promise itself has shifted.

Trump originally proposed banning Muslims from entering the United States until the government could “figure out what the hell is going on.”

As the campaign went on, that proposal – which would likely be unconstitutional – was amended to something within the power of the executive – restricting immigration from specific countries.

While all of the countries on the proposed list are Muslim-majority countries, it does not include all the nations of the Middle-East. The United Arab Emirates and Kuwait – both home to extensive US business interests – are not expected to face new restrictions at this time.

Spencer Fernando

Photo – Twitter