BYELECTION: Conservatives Win Big In Alberta, Liberals Take Seat In Quebec

Liberals take advantage of NDP vote collapse, Conservatives win Rona Ambrose’s former constituency by large margin.

A pair of byelections show the Conservatives and Liberals consolidating support in Alberta and Quebec respectively.

Alberta – Sturgeon River-Parkland

The Conservatives expanded on their 2015 win in the Alberta riding of Sturgeon River-Parkland, with their vote increasing from 70.23% to around 77.5%. The constituency was previously held by former Cabinet Minister and Interim Conservative Leader Rona Ambrose.

26-year-old Conservative candidate Dane Lloyd – a Military Reservist and recent parliamentary assistant to Conservative MP Michael Cooper easily won the seat.

Both the NDP and Liberals saw their vote decline.

Quebec – Lac-Saint-Jean

In Quebec, the Liberals took a riding previously held by Conservative Denis Lebel. Lebel had won 33.3% in 2015, narrowly beating the NDP candidate who won 28%.

But this time, with Lebel no longer running, the Conservative vote fell to 24.8%, a distant second to Liberal candidate Richard Hébert who won with 38.6%.

The Bloc got 23.5%, while the NDP fell all the way to 11.7%, a massive collapse that will begin to raise questions about Jagmeet Singh’s ability to hold onto NDP support in Quebec.

Spencer Fernando

Photo – Twitter/Facebook