Trudeau Unveils Significantly Reshaped Cabinet As Liberals Slump In The Polls

With the Prime Minister himself being the undeniable face of the government, there are limits to what a cabinet shuffle – even a dramatic one – can do.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has unveiled a dramatically reshaped federal cabinet, an attempt to reset the government’s relationship with Canadians amid a widespread erosion of confidence in and support for the Liberal government.

Some big names were moved out of cabinet entirely, like Marco Mendicino and David Lametti. Mendicino’s ouster was unsurprising, given how he is widely viewed as deeply incompetent.

Other moves were more surprising, including Anita Anand being shifted from Minister of National Defence to Treasury Board President. Bill Blair is replacing her as Defence Minister.

Some divisive names are staying put, with Steven Guilbeault remaining in the Environment Minister role. Patty Hajdu will also be staying on as Minister of Indigenous Services. Melanie Joly will continue as Foreign Affairs Minister.

Chrystia Freeland – arguably the most powerful member of the government after Trudeau – is remaining as Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister.

You can read the full list of cabinet roles below per the official government announcement:

Reshuffled Ministers

  • Anita Anand becomes President of the Treasury Board
  • Marie-Claude Bibeau becomes Minister of National Revenue
  • Bill Blair becomes Minister of National Defence
  • Randy Boissonnault becomes Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Official Languages
  • Jean-Yves Duclos becomes Minister of Public Services and Procurement
  • Sean Fraser becomes Minister of Housing, Infrastructure and Communities
  • Karina Gould becomes Leader of the Government in the House of Commons
  • Mark Holland becomes Minister of Health
  • Ahmed Hussen becomes Minister of International Development
  • Gudie Hutchings becomes Minister of Rural Economic Development and Minister responsible for the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
  • Kamal Khera becomes Minister of Diversity, Inclusion and Persons with Disabilities
  • Dominic LeBlanc becomes Minister of Public Safety, Democratic Institutions and Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Diane Lebouthillier becomes Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard
  • Lawrence MacAulay becomes Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food
  • Marc Miller becomes Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship
  • Mary Ng becomes Minister of Export Promotion, International Trade and Economic Development
  • Seamus O’Regan Jr. becomes Minister of Labour and Seniors
  • Ginette Petitpas Taylor becomes Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence
  • Carla Qualtrough becomes Minister of Sport and Physical Activity
  • Pablo Rodriguez becomes Minister of Transport and will continue to serve as Quebec Lieutenant
  • Harjit S. Sajjan becomes President of the King’s Privy Council for Canada and Minister of Emergency Preparedness and Minister responsible for the Pacific Economic Development Agency of Canada
  • Pascale St-Onge becomes Minister of Canadian Heritage
  • Jonathan Wilkinson becomes Minister of Energy and Natural Resources

New Ministers

  • Gary Anandasangaree becomes Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations
  • Terry Beech becomes Minister of Citizens’ Services
  • Soraya Martinez Ferrada becomes Minister of Tourism and Minister responsible for the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec
  • Ya’ara Saks becomes Minister of Mental Health and Addictions and Associate Minister of Health
  • Jenna Sudds becomes Minister of Families, Children and Social Development
  • Rechie Valdez becomes Minister of Small Business
  • Arif Virani becomes Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

Ministers staying put

  • Chrystia Freeland, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance
  • François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry
  • Steven Guilbeault, Minister of Environment and Climate Change
  • Patty Hajdu, Minister of Indigenous Services and Minister responsible for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Northern Ontario
  • Marci Ien, Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Youth
  • Mélanie Joly, Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Filomena Tassi, Minister responsible for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario
  • Dan Vandal, Minister of Northern Affairs, Minister responsible for Prairies Economic Development Canada and Minister responsible for the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency

No change at the top

This is a big cabinet shuffle. Yet, with the Prime Minister being by far the most well-known and prominent face of the government, changes to the federal ministry have a muted impact on public perceptions of the government. Canada’s problems are far deeper than just a few bad ministers, and without a change at the top of the government most Canadians are unlikely to change their increasingly negative views towards those currently in power.

Read more: Conservatives lead Liberals by 10 points in new poll

Conservatives Lead Liberals By 10 Points In New Poll

Spencer Fernando

Photo – YouTube